I should be honest.  This isn’t a recipe.  Or, if it is a recipe, it’s one that everyone has in their head.  Who doesn’t have some standard recipe involving bell peppers, onions, and whatever protein happens to be handy?  For that reason, I wasn’t going to post this “recipe.”  The boy changed my mind.  He had a point: once upon a time, I did not have this recipe sitting in my head, waiting for a day when I was very hungry and relatively lazy.  It came from somewhere.  Plus, I like my version a lot, and it was particularly satisfying last night.  So, if you already have this recipe in your mental file under “low-effort, lots of yum ” then read no further.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, read on.  🙂

One of my favorite things about this meal is how easy it is to adjust according to how many people you have to feed.  I tend to buy chicken breasts in bulk and freeze them in pairs, so it’s easy for me to make a chicken dinner for 2 or 6 (odd numbers continue to stymie me!).  My other favorite thing about this meal is how easy it is to adjust to what I have on hand – need to use up that stir fry beef you bought?  That’ll do.  Really, you don’t even need the meat.   Basically, this is the perfect after-work meal, or your-friends-just-called-and-said-they’ll-be-there-in-20-minutes meal.  Plus, did I mention it’s tasty?

Now, of course you could just serve this as-is; protein and veggies, what more do you need?  But, you know me, why leave well enough alone when you could pile that meal on a baked potato?  Or a pile of mashed potatoes?  Or a crusty roll?  Or some brown rice?  You get where I’m going with this…to make it the perfect, filling, quick-but-satisfying meal, I recommend serving it with a starch of some sort. Oh, and I use a mix of orange and red peppers, because I like the taste, and because I like the look of using two colors.

Chicken with Peppers
Serves 2, easily adjusts for more

2 teaspoons olive oil
2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, thinly sliced
1-2 red, yellow, or orange bell peppers (depending on size, I usually use 1 1/2 or so), thinly sliced
1/2 medium onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons Montreal Steak Seasoning (or something similar)
2 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce (Lea and Perrins is Gluten-free)
salt and pepper, to taste

Heat oil in a skillet over medium high heat.  Salt and pepper the sliced chicken, then brown chicken on all sides.  Add peppers, onions, and garlic.  Cook, stirring (like a stir fry, keep the veggies moving) for 3-5 minutes, or until the onions are translucent and the peppers are softened (you don’t want to cook them until they’re gooey, just not crisp anymore).  Add a sprinkle of salt and pepper, the steak seasoning, and Worcestershire sauce, stir to coat the chicken and veggies.  Lower heat to medium and cook another 5 minutes, stirring.  Adjust seasoning to taste (I like this really strong, so I almost always add an extra sprinkle of steak seasoning and a splash of Worcestershire at the end).

Keep in mind that if you use more or less veg (or protein), you’ll need more or less seasoning.  Use your judgment…I don’t measure anything for a meal like this…just sprinkle and taste, sprinkle and taste 🙂

My favorite way to serve this is over a baked potato.

